Sorry for the delay in posting I have had a child, and have not had much time for game play, but now I have lots more time to play games and write reviews, and thanks to gamefly I will have tons of reviews for you ^_^
Soo.. here is my review on the game Bayonetta
Pros: Wonderful graphics and environments, fun action. The style is different from the usual serious Devil May Cry boredom.
Cons: The camera is constantly poring over Bayonetta's backside and bosom. I'm not a prude, but the developers come off as depraved teenagers. It gets old real fast and is a disservice to the good gameplay.
It's like they were insecure about whether you'd like the game, so they put in continual eye candy. I'm getting tired of these over-erotic Japanese games.
The cutscenes are tedious and overlong. They are almost as self-indulgent as the MGS4 scenes. There was a scene where two characters literally out-posed each for like 30+ seconds. Skip them all you won't miss a thing, seriously.
You're watching Bayonetta in CG cutscenes doing these amazing moves, and then you're so underpowered in the actual gameplay compared to that. It seems to a problem with many Japanese-made games.
The J-pop was not to my liking for this sort of game. It ran against the grain for the music my brain was expecting.
The level design felt constrained. I realize that these type of action games usually are extremely linear, but I still felt like the environments could have been opened up a bit more. I think it was due to the constant cutscene interruptions that made me feel this way.
Still, this game is superior to Ninja Gaiden II and Devil May Cry 4. If they trim the posing excess, then I'll definitely play the next game.
Jun 14, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)


No comments:
Post a Comment